3D is Overrated

3D, Cinema, Film, Movies

Theres not many things I enjoy more than going to the cinema. The popcorn, hotdogs, nachos and more importantly, the comfy seats. So why is it that for the last decade all our local cinemas have been marred by 3D glasses?


Rewind to 2005. Sure, by the time 3D hit our cinemas, it wasn’t a revolutionary experience. 3D screenings took place before at IMAX theatres or at Disneyland, but the idea of having access to it on all upcoming blockbuster movies was an idea to be lavished at, the introduction would be groundbreaking, notching up our traditional cinema experience to a whole new level. An image of a mid-20th century family surrounding a TV springs to mind, an idea of us humans living in a middle class society having some sort of advertisement trigger and NEEDING what we see other people have.

colour tv

Unfortunately from time to time (a lot of the time I find), technological expectations come with let downs and 3D was destined to be one of them. I recall my first 3D cinema experience being Harry Potter: Goblet of Fire, prompting viewers by flashing big bold subtitles “PUT ON YOUR 3D GLASSES NOW” across the base of the screen in the remaining 10 minutes of the movie during the epic showdown finale. Impressive. Flashes of lightning bolts shooting out of wand tips towards my face and a tornado of ember flames that I could almost reach out and touch. 10 minutes of excitement was not enough, definitely not enough. I can guarantee it wasn’t worth the money, in fact, it was a complete waste of… however much this “revolutionary” experience was extorting me of my pocket money. Maybe I was still young then, I still held high hopes for 3D and I knew I was going to try it again.

Nowadays we can’t even watch a drama without every local cinema trying to squeeze the pennies out of us by screening only in 3D. Well, living in Hong Kong, there are probably two 2D screenings of blockbuster movies a day; once at 9am on a Saturday morning, preceded by the 12am Sunday morning screening. (Taking into account i’m a working man who works a standard 9-5, 5 day a week job who isn’t quite “radical” enough anymore to mission it to work the next day with less that 4hours sleep). Tragic really, being forced to wear ridiculous thick framed headmounts that strain your eyes whilst watching a 2D movie with 3D texted subtitles. Even at IMAX cinemas, I find that the more impressive movies are best screened in 2D. I swear, the 3D glasses at IMAX cinemas are even more uncomfortable, even kids hate them. So why do we still have these eye exhausting necessities that people aren’t really enjoying? For the sake of enjoyment, will nobody really stand up and just say:

“Hey! how about releasing some worthwhile 3D movies or just stop releasing them altogether”

Maybe its just me and maybe i’m the only guy who thinks this. I might sound like i’m hating, but don’t get me wrong, some movies were made for the 3D experience. Avatar by James Cameron IS a 3D movie and should be watched in 3D to gain the ultimate experience. But then there are many movies you go into watching (mostly superhero action movies by Marvel) which are filmed in such a high quality that there really isn’t any need for the post-production conversion to 3D. Whether this is forced upon the directors or not, I am unsure, but I believe 3D can also have negative effects on the intended outcome of visual effects. So is it possible to have that clear divide between 3D intended movies and 2D only movies? Or must this market be a cash cow that milks us audience because nothing is really ever going to stop us from going to the cinema?

Which brings me on to 3D TVs, costing buyers 25% more than your normal TVs accompanied by equally stupid specs (some even requiring batteries). I don’t watch much TV, but i’m almost certain that there aren’t many programmes filmed for 3D. I can’t even justify the reason why people want to buy one unless they have that kind of money and rather watch their movies on DVD or something. I dunno. Its a luxury technology and not even that luxurious, that people want for the novelty, I guess.

0b5f6794c6c32f7c94cffd8f68d1a325

So it makes me wonder, whats next. We already have D-Box, which like the 3D “experience” lasts for roughly 5 minutes before the novelty wears off and your eyes (or body adjusts) whilst watching the movie. Being dangled upside down from the ceilings? Occulus Rift? Perhaps this may appeal to people, but that sad fact is that at this present moment, we’re GIVEN 3D at cinemas and its not really much of a choice anymore…

Let me know what you think in the comments section below.

Leave a comment